i The library has reached its daily checkout limit. Please add items to your Wishlist and return later to check out.
 Thank You, Omu!

Thank You, Omu!

Synopsis

A 2019 Caldecott Honor BookWinner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator AwardIn this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

Book Details

Publisher

Little Brown & Co

Released

Oct 02, 2018

Language

english

ISBN

9780316556521

Age Level

Children's - Grade 1-2, Age 6-7
)